Newly elected Sheema North MP Kibaaju takes oath

Newly elected Sheema North MP Kibaaju takes oath

The newly elected Sheema North Member of Parliament, Naome Kibaaju has taken an oath in Parliament bringing the number of the members of Parliament to 456.

Kibaaju took the oath this afternoon during a plenary chaired by the Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Jacob Oulanyah.

The Legislator was flanked by Government Chief Whip, Ruth Nankabirwa, NRM Deputy Caucus Solomon Silwany, Kashari County MP, Nathan Itungo.

After taking the oath, she was handed a copy of the Constitution and the Parliament Rules of Procedure by Oulanyah.

In the two candidate race, Kibaaju was elected Sheema North MP last month after garnering 11,326 votes compared to her other challenger, former Resident District Commissioner (RDC) Mitooma district, Guma Nuwagaba who contested on the Forum for Democratic Change’s (FDC) ticket, who polled 7,322 votes.

According to figures announced by the Sheema District Returning Officer, Deborah Asiimwe, a total of 18,773 were cast, 125 were invalid while 28 were spoilt.

In a related development, Parliament also paid their respect to the over 40 victims who were washed away by mudslide in Bududa, as well as former Attorney General Peter Nyombi who passed away on October 7, 2018, Dr. Sarah Nyendwoha Ntiro the first woman university graduate in East and Central Africa, who died on October 22,2018.